top of page

Dealing with Gestational Diabetes during pregnancy.

So Let’s talk about this annoying thing called gestational diabetes...


 

what is gestational diabetes: A form of high blood sugar affecting pregnant women.


 

so at a certain point in your pregnancy you get to do this fun thing where you have to drink this nasty sugar juice 🤢 and you have to drink it within like 5 min then you wait an hour after you drink it to give your blood. Well I didn’t pass that so I got to come back a week later to drink it all over again! This time it’s a 3 hour long process so you give blood after fasting all night, drink the sugar juice, wait and hour, give blood, wait another hour, give blood, wait one more hour give your final blood. So then week later I find out I didn’t pass that. So what happens now you say....


So now I am monitoring my daily levels, trying to keep a healthy diet, exercise, and monitoring the baby. If blood sugar is too high, medication is needed. Luckily I have been doing well at keeping it at normal levels. So each day I have to prick my finger and record my blood levels 4 times a day (when I wake up, one hour after breakfast, lunch and dinner). I have been doing this now for two months and it’s just as annoying as it was from the start lol I’m at 36 weeks pregnant now so I am almost there and hopefully be done with this whole diabetes crap! I just want to eat normal healthy food again and not have to worry about everything.


so yea....if there have been other mamas out there that had to go through this I feel ya!


 


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page